TEN BEST SHOWS ON TELEVISION IN 2012: US EDITION


Dahlings, if you don’t have access to DirecTV then this post may mean nothing to you. The network television shows [ABC, NBC, CBS & Fox] have little if anything that makes you want to rush home and be infront of the set to watch. I haven’t felt that way about a show on the three major networks since “The West Wing.” But have faith things are bright and exciting on the cable netowrks. Here is my top ten list for the year so far.

10. Push Girls -Sundance Channel:
I came across this show completely by accident and now my DVR is bursting at the seams with episodes. I love how tough these gals are. It’s not just a feel good show because halfway through the second episode I’d forgotten they were in wheel chairs and was fascinated by how they attack life.

9. Breaking Bad -AMC:
A good man goes bad? Or was he a bad man all the time? I’ve been watching for four seasons now and I guess by the end of the fifth and last that question will be answered.

8. True Blood -HBO:
I know dahlings many of you will give me grief about this show being rated so low but the plot twists have left me with a giant question mark over my head. I’m sure they’ll right the ship and give me my good characters being good again soon. Kristen Bauer van Stratten and Rutina Wesley are this season’s standout performers.

7. Californication -Showtime:
The cast in this drama is what makes it out of the bottom three; the lusty and raucous plots and scenes bring out the best in the cast. McElhone is a dream and Duchovny is plain stellar.

6. Boardwalk Empire -HBO:
Anyone who didn’t think Steve Buscemi was a star after “Fargo” was an idiot dahlings. Anyone who doesn’t think so now after Boardwalk Empire just isn’t paying attention. Characters have come and gone but the triangle of Gretchen Mol, Kelly MacDonald and Paz de la Huerta make the Boardwalk really sizzle.

5. Mad Men -AMC:
What else could you possibly want from a period piece? Luscious just plain luscious from the sets, to the actors to the scripts.

4. Boss -STARZ:
It’s only been on for one season and if this season is as good as the last this will likely be in the top three this time next year. Kelsey Grammer has done a star turn in this role as have Kathleen Robertson and Connie Nielsen. Who’ll wind up dead in the Windy City this season?

3. Game of Thrones -HBO:
I have never been a fantasy, sword and sorcery fan and I’m still not because Game of Thrones is just a power drama plain and simple. There are people I know here in Dis that wouldn’t go near anything of this genre a year ago and now? They’re hooked! Don’t be confused dahlings Peter Dinklage is the star of this epic series.

2. The Newsroom -HBO:
This show from the brillaint mind of Aaron Sorkin is reason enough to stay up to 2300 on Sunday nights. Jeff Daniels is Broadway quality brillaint in giving a body and a pulse to Sorkin’s words. Emily Mortimer is so very animated, in a most positive way befitting her personality, that I’m worn out with joy after every episode. Alison Pill [whom I love on “In Treatment”] is equally frenetic, sarcastic and whip smart. And as if this weren’t enough dahlings you get Jane Fonda, Olivia Munn AND Sam Waterston to watch every week.

1. Downton Abbey -PBS:
Okay this is a bit of a trick, but January 2013 can’t get to Terra fast enough for me. I don’t have enough column space to say all the wonderful things that need to be said about Elizabeth McGovern, Michelle Dockery, Sophie Mc Shera, Hugh Bonneville, Dan Stevens and Dame Maggie Smith. All I can say is bravo!

Qu’ul cuda praedex nihil!

Valeri Dubov, D.S.V.A., O.Q.H [Fashion Design]
Managing Editor—Arts, Fashion & Culture
The Dis Brimstone-Daily Pitchfork
97 Shatter 2 AS

2 Responses to “TEN BEST SHOWS ON TELEVISION IN 2012: US EDITION”

  1. We’re hooked on Downton Abbey, Breaking Bad, and Boardwalk Empire, too. Looks like I’ll have to update the Netflix queue to pick up the rest of the list.

  2. Majordomo Pain Says:

    Ser Daryl you will not be disappointed. We, Ourselves, of The Collective are hooked on Boss, Californication, Game of Thrones and The Newsroom. Do enjoy!
    Qu’ul cuda praedex nihil!

Leave a Reply

