THE POISONED FRUIT OF GOP DESPERATION: MEET JOSHUA BLACK


fred_schwartz_4

I came across this hours ago and felt that the blogosphere and the MSM had given this guy enough press. But when confronted with such a clear case of far Right hypocrisy I had to write about it. Joshua Black is running for the GOP nomination for the Florida State House in District 68. On his website he states what has come to be known as a TEA Party platform. There’s plenty of religion, plenty of Constitution and plenty of what the far Right base wants to hear. The fact that Black is well, black and has these values and expresses them in an articulate manner could, under normal circumstances be quite a coup d’etat for the TEA Party. The very first page on his website is “About the candidate” and what follows below is his bio [emphasis mine]:

Greetings! My name is Joshua Black, and I am running for Florida State House, in District 68, which includes Northeast Saint Pete, Eastern Pinellas Park, and southern Feather Sound.

Since I am asking you to entrust me with the task of representing you faithfully in Tallahassee, you probably want to know more about me. So here it goes:

I was born and raised in Saint Louis, Mo., as the second of ten children, all home schooled by my mother’s insistence. The condition of public education in my hometown is and was abysmal, even though the school board kept getting tax increases approved. They nearly lost their accreditation twice during my school years. Meanwhile, I scored a 28 on the ACT, and a 99 on the ASVAB. Yeah. Good choice, mom.

I moved to Saint Petersburg back in 2007, in November, with ministry on my mind. I had been practicing street evangelism in Saint Louis, but always alone. So, finding a team here, I decided to go where I could grow. And grow I have. It hasn’t always been easy, and some of the difficulties were my own fault, but I have no regrets about moving to Florida and am very grateful for the friends that I have found here.

My involvement in politics began in 2012, as I tried to influence the Republican presidential primary. I didn’t do much at first, not finding time, but I wanted to do more. After Florida’s primary, I got involved in the local Republican Executive Committee. There I met local candidates for elected office and decided to volunteer to help some of them. I learned a lot, even though the Republicans lost badly and seemed at a loss to explain why. I knew why.

Republicans have a serious communication problem. Everything we say sounds like spears. We find ways to energize our core supporters, the people who will always only ever vote Republican, but we have a hard time explaining to anyone else why they should listen to our solutions.

One of the reasons is that we speak “caucus language” all the time, even in interviews with the liberal press. This is idiotic, unless we want to keep wasting money and losing elections. We need to spend time in the community, learn what concerns they have, and find out if our positions really address the needs there. Sometimes, the answer is simply directing problems to solvers who are not part of the government. That is, after all, what Republicans stand for, isn’t it?

I believe that, once we show people how to handle their own problems effectively, they will not want to relinquish that power to the government. Then, and only then, will there truly be “liberty and justice for all.”

I post this to offer the contrast to Joshua Blacks comments about President of the United States Barack Hussein Obama, responding “Agreed,” to this as posted on his Twitter feed, on 20 January 2014:

“I’m past impeachment. It’s time to arrest and hang him high.”

hindsight 2311
In Hindsight

that’s right Black was referring to the President. That Barack Obama should be hanged for Treason because of drone strikes that killed an American and his son in Yemen because they were al Qaeda terrorists. This is a low point even for TEA Party lunatics. This is what happens when a little tent party lets the lunatics in in the hope of giving the appearance of diversity. All it actually does is draw in the religious whackos, street hucksters and those who wish to drink from the trough of the politically privileged, even if just for a moment. In this case all of those apply.

Pax Terra!

Fredrick Schwartz, D.S.V.J., CS, O.Q.H [Journ.]
Managing Editor—Research
The Dis Brimstone-Daily Pitchfork
96 1 Leviathan 3 AS

Leave a Reply

