VOX POPULI: CHANGE.ORG CALL FOR OPEN FIREARM CARRY AT THE GOP CONVENTION IN CLEVELAND EXPOSES THE ESSENTIAL IDEOLOGY OF THE AVERAGE AMERICAN CONSERVATIVE


Thoeressamt

A post on the pro-Trump former “journalism” site Breitbart by Awr Hawkins calls attention to a Change.org petition asking Governor John Kasich to lift the prohibition on concealed firearm carry at the Quicken Loans Arena during this spring’s GOP Convention. I know this sounds a bit insane on its face that anyone would even consider doing this much less the sitting Republican governor and number three candidate for the nomination. Kasich might as well everyone’s seat with a bomb and explode them at random based on seat number during the four day event.

Among the comments associated with the post are several clear headed explanations that the Secret Service would never allow this and the fact that Kasich would never do it. However, one comment conversation struck me as very interesting indeed:

Roseglow jRat • 3 hours ago
Can you at least agree that I, as a private homeowner, can have a say-so in whether you bring a gun to the barbecue I invited your family to attend at my home?

John Stephens Roseglow • 2 hours ago
No. I have right to carry a firearm for self defense, and I exercise that right. If you don’t like it, don’t invite me. But don’t try to tell me what to do.

Roseglow John Stephens • 2 hours ago
I put lots of restrictions on my guests – no guns, no cursing in front of the kids, no drunkeness or illegal drug use, park only where I tell you to, don’t trample the flowers, be polite to my other guests, etc.
Guess I won’t be inviting you anytime soon – you don’t sound like a very respectful guest.

John Stephens Roseglow • an hour ago
That’s fine, if you mistrust me that much I want nothing to do with you anyway. But anyone else attending that party who was planning to hit me up for a favor is going to be out of luck. So let’s apply that to the issue at hand: the GOP is attending a party at the Quicken Center, and I’m not invited. Why in turn should I give them my vote?

EOD Roseglow • 13 hours ago
The GOP Convention is being held on Private Property and is by invitation only.
Citizens have no right what-so-ever to bring Weapons on to Private Property if the Property Owner does not allow Weapons.

BestUserNameEver EOD • 11 hours ago
I’d love to agree with you, but private property doesn’t really exist.

If a private business can be forced to do business with a gay couple against the owner’s wishes, then they can be forced to deal with people carrying a gun.

Roseglow EOD • 3 hours ago
You’ll get no argument from me on that. But it can be argued that it makes the Republicans look like hypocrites.

John Stephens Roseglow • 2 hours ago
“,..deemed appropriate” by WHOM? That’s always been the problem; ANY concession has been used to “limit and regulate” the RTKBA into irrelevance. At this point, it is no longer possible to assume good faith on the part of the authorities in these matters.

The common thread in that is the angry nature of “you can’t tell me what to do!” wing of the GOP. That first response by John Stephens is the mantra of the GOP base that is supporting Trump. Yet another crack appears in the foundation of the Party of Lincoln. At the time of this posting, 22,045 supporters had signed the petition.

Qu’ul cuda praedex nihil!

Ciu Cava daelth Nixhot, J.F.. D.S.V.J.
Consiglieri
The Dis Brimstone Daily Pitchfork
77 High Lux Negro 3 AS

2 Responses to “VOX POPULI: CHANGE.ORG CALL FOR OPEN FIREARM CARRY AT THE GOP CONVENTION IN CLEVELAND EXPOSES THE ESSENTIAL IDEOLOGY OF THE AVERAGE AMERICAN CONSERVATIVE”

  1. I live near enough to Cleveland I’m going a sign which reads “I’m w stupid” on one side and “How old’s the earth?” on the other.

    • neocon01 Says:

      dont forget your BLM matters T, wit a picture of bathhouse barry wit a hammer and sickle, and a cock.

Leave a Reply

